Satellite re-entry

Satellites sometimes re-enter the earth’s atmosphere and may crash on the surface. Since some of these satellites derive their energy from radioactive materials, radiation releases cannot be excluded in the event of impact. The NEOC is responsible for locating the radioactive debris and for organising the corresponding radioactive monitoring campaign, if such a crash should actually occur on Swiss national territory. Here, it can rely on the resources of the Emergency Organisation Radioactivity (EOR).

The European Space Agency (ESA) informs the NEOC of the imminent re-entry of a nuclear-powered satellite in Switzerland. In turn, the NEOC informs all cantonal police services. As well as discussing possible measures to protect the population, it is important that the NEOC receives reports and observations on the crash from the general public.

The NEOC immediately mobilises various EOR monitoring resources. The most effective instrument in such an event is aerial radiometry. In deploying a Swiss Air Force helicopter, equipped with a highly-sensitive measuring device, it is possible to scan and survey a 70km2 area in the space of three hours.
In addition to the mobilising experts and measuring equipment, the NEOC also requests immediate information on wind conditions from MeteoSwiss. As the national contact point, the NEOC is also responsible for keeping the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) informed.

Chute de satellite

Il arrive de temps en temps que des satellites tombent au sol. Comme certains d'entre eux fonctionnent au combustible nucléaire, on ne peut pas exclure une irradiation lors de la chute. Si un tel événement se produit sur le territoire suisse, la CENAL est responsable de la localisation de l'épave radioactive et de l'organisation des mesures. Pour ce faire, elle peut s'appuyer sur les moyens de l'Organisation d'intervention en cas d'augmentation de la radioactivité (OIR).

Si un satellite à propulsion nucléaire menace de tomber sur la Suisse, la CENAL en sera avertie par l' Agence spatiale européenne (ESA). Elle informera de son côté les polices cantonales. Il ne s'agit pas seulement de prendre des mesures de protection de la population mais également de recueillir les observations du public concernant l'événement.

En cas d'événement, la CENAL met immédiatement sur pied les moyens de mesure de l'OIR. Dans un tel cas, l'outil le plus approprié est l'aéroradiométrie. Un appareil de mesure très sensible est installé sur un hélicoptère. Une surface de quelque 70 km2 peut être balayée en trois heures.

La CENAL ne se contente pas de convoquer des experts et de mettre à contribution les moyens de mesure. Elle demande également à MétéoSuisse de lui fournir des informations détaillées sur les vents. En tant que point de contact national, la CENAL informe également l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA).