Mobile Measuring Devices

Through the Emergency Organisation Radioactivity (EOR), the NEOC has access to a wide range of mobile measurement systems.

PSI and IRA emergency vehicles

Most stand-by operations relating to radioactivity can be carried out with simple measuring equipment for which the speed of intervention on site is decisive. For these tasks, the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) and the Institute for Applied Radiophysics (IRA) have vehicles ready for use. These are equipped with equipment to measure local dose rates and contamination. Their purpose is to swiftly determine the radiological situation on site.

Collecting and analysing samples

The NEOC provides different mobile teams to collect and analyse samples and is deployed in targeted fashion to collect additional measured data from areas affected by a radioactive incident.

Measurement vehicles

Various measurement vehicles and monitoring teams are available in Switzerland. These are stationed at the nuclear power plants (NPP, temporary storage facilities), the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI), the Section Environmental Radioactivity (URA) of the Federal Office of Public Health FOPH), the Institute for Applied Radiophysics (IRA) and the Spiez Laboratory (LS). These measurement vehicles are used to measure dose rates and to take air and environmental samples. There are a number of different laboratories available to analyse these samples. The federal laboratories are primarily responsible for the evaluation of environmental samples, while the cantonal laboratories specialise in the analysis of foodstuffs.

Special on-site measurements

Two mobile measurement laboratories are also available to the monitoring organisations. One contains a whole-body counter, a sampling unit with a NaI-detector and various instruments for measuring the dose rate. The second vehicle is equipped with a Ge-detector and dose-rate measuring equipment. The mobile measurement laboratories can collect and analyse samples on site. Furthermore, it can be ascertained on the spot whether a person is suffering from internal irradiation, where the ingestion or inhalation of radioactivity is suspected.

On-site gamma spectrometry consists of mobile, hand-held Ge-detectors. They determine nuclide composition in the event of contamination (i.e. identify the substances involved). This information is essential for deciding on which further measures should be taken. The on-site gamma spectrometer is operated by the Spiez Laboratory and the URA and is permanently ready for use. The NEOC authorises its deployment. Once the measuring equipment is in place, results will be recorded every hour.

Aerial measurements

Aerial radiometry enables the NEOC to measure nuclide-specific deposits in the soil and activity over a large area. This is performed by a highly sensitive measuring device installed in a helicopter. In three hours, a surface area of up to 70km2 can be measured. The measured values are tracked online and are presented in a ready-to-print map on landing. Aerial radiometry is used if a larger area needs to be scanned for radioactivity, e.g. following a transport accident, plane crash or during the search for sources of radioactivity that have either been lost or acquired illegally.

NBC Officers

In addition to the measurement vehicles, NBC officers of the Swiss Army are deployed in an emergency to undertake local measurements. They act on behalf of the NEOC. Using hand-held monitors, they can collect detailed ambient dose rate measurements and take samples.

Moyens de mesures mobiles

La CENAL dispose également de toute une panoplie de moyens de mesure dans le cadre de l'organisation de prélèvement et de mesure.

Véhicules de piquet de l'IPS et de l'IRA

La plupart des interventions de piquet en relation avec la radioactivité peuvent ètre gérées avec des moyens de mesure simples. La vitesse d'intervention sur place joue cependant un ròle décisif. Pour accomplir ces tàches, des véhicules de piquet sont disponibles auprès de l'Institut Paul Scherrer (IPS) et de l'Institut de radiophysique (IRA). Ces véhicules sont équipés d'appareils de mesure du débit de dose local et de la contamination et servent à déterminer rapidement la situation radiologique sur le terrain.

Collecte et analyse d'échantillons

La CENAL convoque les différents groupes mobiles chargés de collecter et d'analyser les échantillons et les engage au gré des circonstances pour obtenir des données supplémentaires sur les zones touchées par un événement.

Véhicules de mesure

Différents groupes et véhicules de mesure sont disponibles en Suisse, auprès des centrales nucléaires (CN, ZWILAG), de l'Institut Paul Scherrer (IPS), de la Section Radioactivité de l'environnement de l'Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP), de l'Institut de radiophysique (IRA) et du Laboratoire de Spiez (LS). Ces groupes prennent des mesures du débit de dose, chargent des filtres à air et collectent des échantillons sur le terrain. Divers laboratoires peuvent analyser les échantillons. Ceux de la Confédération se chargent en premier lieu de l'analyse d'échantillons de terrain alors que les laboratoires cantonaux sont spécialisés dans celle des denrées alimentaires.

Mesures spéciales sur le terrain

Deux laboratoires mobiles viennent encore compléter la panoplie des instruments de mesure. L'un d'entre eux contient un anthroporadiomètre, un poste de mesure des échantillons avec détecteur d'iodure de potassium et de différents appareils de mesure du débit de dose. L'autre possède un détecteur germanium et un appareil de mesure du débit de dose. Les laboratoires mobiles permettent de prélever et d'analyser des échantillons sur le terrain. On peut en outre déterminer directement si une personne a subi une contamination interne si l'on suppose qu'elle a ingéré des substances radioactives en respirant ou en s'alimentant.

Les mesures de gammaspectrométrie in situ s'effectuent au moyen de détecteurs germanium portables. Ces appareils permettent de connaître la composition des nuclides en cas de contamination. Cette information est essentielle pour déterminer les autres mesures. Les mesures de gammaspectrométrie in situ sont assurées par le Laboratoire de Spiez et l'IRA. Les moyens sont disponibles en permanence. Les équipes sont convoquées par la CENAL. Une fois arrivées sur le terrain, elles sont en principe en mesure de communiquer leurs résultats sur l'heure.

Mesures aériennes

L'aéroradiométrie permet à la CENAL de mesurer rapidement la radioactivité au sol sur de grandes étendues et en fonction des nuclides présents. Pour ce faire, un appareil de mesure très sensible est installé sur un hélicoptère. Une surface de quelque 70 km2 peut être balayée en trois heures. Les valeurs mesurées sont affichées en permanence, de sorte qu'on peut déjà imprimer une carte dès l'atterrissage. On recourt à l'aéroradiométrie lorsqu'il faut effectuer des mesures sur une grande surface, p. ex. après un accident de transport, un accident d'avion ou lorsqu'on recherche une source perdue ou illégale.

Officiers ABC

Des officiers ABC de l'armée peuvent également être engagés sur mandat de la CENAL pour effectuer des mesures précises du débit de dose et collecter des échantillons à l'aide d'appareils manuels.