Taking iodine tablets

Potassium iodide tablets, taken at the appropriate time and according to official instructions, can prevent radioactive iodine in the air becoming enriched in the thyroid gland through inhalation. In this way, the radioactive load on the thyroid can be significantly reduced.

However, it should be noted that while potassium iodide tablets offer protection from radioactive iodine, they do not protect against radiation from external sources that affect the body and airways. This is why the authorities issue instructions on additional protective measures to be taken in conjunction with the tablets, such as staying indoors, or taking cover in a cellar or protective shelter.

The National Emergency Operations Centre orders potassium iodide tablets to be provided and to be taken if:

  • There is an imminent danger: instructions to have tablets ready;
  • The danger exists: instructions to take the tablets.

All instructions are communicated via radio.

The way in which the potassium iodide tablets are distributed takes into account the time required to provide them after an accident in a Swiss nuclear power plant. It therefore varies according to the particular zone.

The tablets are distributed as a precaution to all households, schools, companies etc. within a circumference of 50 km from Swiss nuclear power plants. In the rest of Switzerland the potassium iodide tablets have to be handed out to the population within 12 hours of their prescription - according to the collect principle.

Administering the tablets

The tablets should only be taken if officially instructed to do so. They should be dissolved in a liquid of choice and preferably not taken on an empty stomach. The authorities will issue information via radio on the length of this course of treatment.

Dosage

Newborns (first four weeks) may only be given a single dose of ¼ tablet; children from 2 months to 3 years, ½ tablet per day. Children between 3 and 12: one tablet per day; children over 12 and adults: 2 tablets per day. Pregnant women and breast-feeding mothers may take 2 tablets daily for a maximum of 2 days.

Taking potassium iodide tablets offers reliable and safe protection of the thyroid gland. However, their uncontrolled use should be avoided, particularly in newborns and toddlers. Patients with rare illnesses, such as hypersensitivity to iodine or a pre-existing disease of the thyroid gland, should consult their family doctor beforehand.
For further information, go to www.jodtabletten.ch.

Comprimés d'iode

Pris à temps et conformément aux indications des autorités, les comprimés d'iodure de potassium empêchent la concentration de l'iode radioactif inhalé dans la glande thyroïde, ce qui réduit considérablement la surcharge de cet organe.

Il faut toutefois tenir compte du fait que les comprimés d'iodure de potassium protègent de l'iode radioactif mais pas des irradiations externes qui affectent le corps et les voies respiratoires. Pour cette raison, la prise de comprimés doit être combinée avec d'autres mesures de protection comme le séjour dans les bâtiments, les caves ou les abris.

La Centrale nationale d'alarme ordonne la distribution et la prise de comprimés d'iodure de potassium dans les circonstances suivantes:

  • quand le danger menace: ordre de préparer les comprimés;
  • quand le danger est effectif: ordre de prendre les comprimés.

Toutes les instructions sont données directement à la population par le canal de la radio.
Le mode de répartition des comprimés tient compte du temps à disposition pour les distribuer en cas d'accident dans une centrale nucléaire suisse.

Les comprimés d'iodure de potassium seront distribués à titre préventif dans les ménages, les écoles, les entreprises, etc, dans un rayon de 50 km autour des centrales nucléaires suisses. Dans le reste de la Suisse, la remise des comprimés est prévue de fašon à ce que la population puisse venir s'approvisionner dans les douze heures suivant l'ordre de distribution.

Prise des comprimés

Les comprimés ne doivent être pris que sur ordre des autorités, dissous dans un liquide quelconque et si possible pas à jeun. La durée de l'utilisation est communiquée à la radio par les autorités.

Dosage

Nouveau-nés dans le premier mois: une seule fois ¼ comprimé; enfants de 2 mois à 3 ans: ½ comprimé par jour; enfants de 3 à 12 ans: 1 comprimé par jour; enfants de plus de 12 ans et adultes: 2 comprimés par jour. Les femmes enceintes ou qui allaitent prendront 2 comprimés par jour pendant 2 jours au maximum.

La protection de la glande thyroïde par la prise de comprimés d'iodure de potassium est une mesure sûre et sans danger. Il faut toutefois éviter une utilisation sans contrôle des comprimés, en particulier chez les nouveau-nés et les enfants en bas âge. Les patients présentant des maladies rares, comme p. ex. une hypersensibilité connue à l'iode ou une affection déjà constatée de la glande thyroïde, consulteront préalablement leur médecin de famille.
On trouvera d' autres informations sous www.jodtabletten.ch.