Chemical accidents

The legal responsibilities for NEOC activities in the event of chemical accidents are very different from those which regulate its radioactivity-related tasks, since the latter are within federal responsibility. In the case of chemical protection, municipal and cantonal deployment forces, such as the police, fire service, chemical protection unit, medical services and disaster protection bodies have extensive powers, responsibilities and resources. It is however in their legal duty to notify the federal authorities in the event of incidents that have serious repercussions on the population and the environment.

Consequently, the NEOC is only involved in large-scale, cross-regional incidents and in the co-ordination of NBC protection. In the event of a terrorist attack with chemical weapons, the NEOC provides the local deployment forces with back up in the shape of the DDPS deployment team (EEVBS). This comprises experts from the Spiez Laboratory and the army’s centre of expertise for national NBC Protection, whose members are specially trained to deal with such incidents.

In early 2000, Switzerland ratified the UN/ECE convention on transborder industrial accidents (Helsinki Convention). By doing so, it is obliged to report serious cross-border industrial accidents. The NEOC was appointed as the “National Contact Point”.

Part of NEOC day-to-day activities in the area of chemical protection is the maintenance of the information system for dangerous substances (IGS).

Chimie

Sur le plan légal, les compétences de la CENAL en cas d'accident chimique diffèrent sensiblement de celles qu'elle assume dans le domaine de la radioactivité, qui relève en grande partie de la Confédération. Lors d'un accident chimique, les services d'intervention communaux et cantonaux comme la police, les sapeurs-pompiers, les services sanitaires et les organes de lutte contre les catastrophes ont des obligations, des pouvoirs et des moyens élargis. Ils sont toutefois tenus par la loi d'informer les autorités fédérales si l'événement a des conséquences graves pour la population et l'environnement.

La CENAL n'interviendra donc directement que lors d'événements de grande ampleur ayant des effets à l'échelon suprarégional et dans le cadre de la protection ABC coordonnée. En cas d'attentat terroriste impliquant des substances chimiques, la CENAL mobilise l'équipe d'intervention du DDPS (Eq intv DDPS) en appui aux services d'intervention locaux. Celui-ci se compose d'experts du Laboratoire de Spiez et du Centre de compétences de l'armée pour la protection ABC, spécialement formés pour lutter contre le terrorisme chimique.

Au printemps 2000, la Suisse a ratifié la Convention UN/ECE relative aux conséquences transfrontalières d'accidents dans l'industrie chimique (accords d'Helsinki). Ce faisant, elle s'engage à diffuser et à recevoir les communications concernant les accidents d'ampleur supranationale. La CENAL a été désignée "point de contact national".

La CENAL gère également le Système d'information concernant les substances dangereuses (IGS / SIC).