Sections

Altogether some 30 people are working for NEOC of which a third are women. The various language regions of Switzerland are also well represented. As national expert authority language skills are of particular importance for NEOC.

Due to its tasks involved most employees come from technical and scientific professions such as geophysics, physics, chemistry, meteorology, engineering or telecommunications.

NEOC is divided into two staff units and four sectors:

Staff unit information
The Information unit is responsible for media work and information events. Together with the partner organisations it develops the concepts for providing information in the event of a major incident. During operations, it coordinates how the public is informed on an incident. If the NEOC prescribes measures to protect the population, this sector also ensures that the public is informed accordingly.
 
Staff unit Strategy and Coordination
This unit provides internal coordination and administration. It is in control of the development of partner network in Switzerland, our network with foreign partner organisations and international organisations.

Reporting and Situation Centre
This body monitors situations relevant for civil protection and ensures that important information is passed on to the partner organisations. Such situations are portrayed for the partner organisations on the Electronic Situation Display system. The Reporting and Situation Centre also assumes tasks relating to chemistry and develops the Information System for Hazardous Substances.

Radioactivity
This sector assesses the radiological situation, directs the federal monitoring teams and works out basic radioactive expertise on behalf of the NEOC. In an emergency this sector provides personnel for the Radioactivity Specialist Staff.

Operational Systems
This sector provides for maintenance and development of operational applications of NEOC and for a highly reliable IT environment.It maintains NEOC's operation rooms and communications systems and ensures that they are always available for an operation that may last for a longer period.

Operations Management
This sector is in charge of NEOC's Warning Centre, operational documents and operation-specific training of NEOC staff. It attends to the procedures of the Warning Centre and the standby service of NEOC.

Sections

La CENAL emploie environ 30 personnes, dont un quart de femmes. Les différentes régions linguistiques de la Suisse sont également bien représentées. La CENAL étant un service national, les compétences linguistiques de ses collaborateurs ont une grande importance.

En raison de la nature des tâches à accomplir, la plupart des collaborateurs ont suivi des formations techniques ou scientifiques dans des domaines comme la géophysique, la physique, la chimie, la météorologie, l'ingénierie ou les télécommunications.

La CENAL englobe deux services d’état-major et quatre services spécialisés :


Le service d’état-major Communication en cas d’événement
est responsable des relations avec les médias et des conférences de presse. En collaboration avec les organisations partenaires, il développe des concepts de communication en cas d'événement majeur. Lors d'interventions, il se charge de coordonner la communication d'urgence. Il est également responsable de la communication lorsque la CENAL prend des mesures de protection de la population.


Le service d’état-major Stratégie et coordination
assume la coordination et les processus administratifs sur le plan interne. En outre, il développe le réseau de partenaires à l’échelon national et à l'étranger (organisations partenaires et internationales).

Le service spécialisé Centre d’annonce et de suivi de la situation (CASS)
assure le suivi de la situation prioritaire pour la protection de la population (BREL) et diffuse les informations importantes aux organisations partenaires. Les organisations partenaires peuvent consulter la BREL sur la présentation électronique de la situation (PES). En outre, le CASS accomplit des tâches dans le domaine de la chimie et développe le Système d’information concernant les substances dangereuses pour l’environnement (IGS).


Le service spécialisé Intervention radioactivité
évalue la situation radiologique, assure la conduite de l’organisation de mesure de la Confédération et élabore pour la CENAL des documentations sur la radioactivité. En cas d’intervention, il forme l’état-major spécialisé Radioactivité.


Le service spécialisé Systèmes d’intervention
assure l’entretien et le développement des applications d'intervention de la CENAL, ainsi que la disponibilité permanente des systèmes informatiques. Il entretient les locaux d'intervention de la CENAL et les systèmes de communication, et assure la disponibilité opérationnelle permanente de ceux-ci en cas d'intervention de longue durée.

Le service spécialisé Opérations
gère le poste d'alarme de la CENAL, les documents d'intervention et la formation des collaborateurs de la CENAL à l'intervention, ainsi que les processus du poste d'alarme et du service de piquet de la CENAL.