International partners

The most important international partners of the NEOC are:

  • Neighbouring countries (Germany, France, Austria and Italy)
  • International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in Vienna
  • European Union (EU)
  • Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA)
  • European Space Agency (ESA)
  • Partnership for Peace (PfP)

On the basis of bilateral agreements, the NEOC is part of an international warning and information system via the emergency operations centres of its neighbouring countries and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in Vienna.

The NEOC is the national contact point and competent authority for the notification agreement concerning nuclear accidents (EMERCON alarms). Parallel to this, the European Union has established an alarm system ECURIE (European Community Urgent Radiological Information Exchange), for which the NEOC has also assumed the role of national contact point and competent authority. In accordance with the UNECE convention, the NEOC is also the national contact point for chemical accidents with cross-border consequences.

The Nuclear Energy Agency, which is a subdivision of the OECD, is concerned with radiation protection issues at governmental level. It produces a series of publications and carries out international exercises, in which the NEOC also participates.

In addition, the NEOC is also in regular contact with the emergency operations centres of other countries. These contacts are growing in importance as a result of the greater speed with which information can be exchanged worldwide.

The large international organisations involved in radiation protection are primarily responsible for the exchange of information at a scientific level. One of the most important of these is the International Radiation Protection Association (IRPA), which has around 16,000 members from 42 countries and 37 national or regional organisations. The Association of German and Swiss Radiation Protection Specialists (FS) is the IRPA member organisation for these two countries.

Partenaires internationaux

Les principaux partenaires de la CENAL sont:

  • les pays voisins (Allemagne, France, Autriche, Italie)
  • l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA) à Vienne
  • l'Union européenne (UE)
  • l'Agence pour l'énergie nucléaire (AEN)
  • l'Agence spatiale européenne (ESA)
  • le Partenariat pour la paix (PPP)

Sur la base de contrats bilatéraux, la CENAL est reliée aux centrales d'alarme des Etats voisins et à l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA) à Vienne dans le cadre d'un système international d'alerte et d'information.

La CENAL est le point national d'alerte et l'autorité compétente pour l'accord de notification sur les accidents nucléaires (messages EMERCON). Par ailleurs, l'Union européenne a élaboré le système d'alarme ECURIE (European Community Urgent Radiological Information Exchange), pour lequel la CENAL assume également la fonction de point de contact et d'organe spécialisé à l'échelon national. Elle assure également la liaison en cas d'accident chimique transfrontalier dans le cadre de la Convention UN/ECE.

L'Agence pour l'énergie nucléaire (AEN) - une sous-organisation de l'OCDE - s'occupe également de questions de radioprotection au niveau gouvernemental. Elle édite un certain nombre de publications et effectue des exercices internationaux auxquels la CENAL participe.

La CENAL entretient en outre des rapports réguliers avec les centres d'intervention et de situation d'autres pays. L'augmentation continuelle de la rapidité avec laquelle les informations sont aujourd'hui diffusées confère à ces contacts une importance croissante.

Les échanges d'information sur le plan scientifique sont essentiellement assumés par les grandes organisations internationales du secteur de la radioprotection. L' Association internationale pour la protection contre les radiations (IRPA), à laquelle appartiennent environ 16'000 experts en radioprotection provenant de 42 pays et 37 sociétés nationales ou régionales, est l'une des plus importantes. La Suisse et l'Allemagne sont représentées à l'IRPA par l'Association professionnelle des spécialistes en radioprotection (FS).