Satellite re-entry

Satellites sometimes re-enter the earth’s atmosphere and may crash on the surface. Since some of these satellites derive their energy from radioactive materials, radiation releases cannot be excluded in the event of impact. The NEOC is responsible for locating the radioactive debris and for organising the corresponding radioactive monitoring campaign, if such a crash should actually occur on Swiss national territory. Here, it can rely on the resources of the Emergency Organisation Radioactivity (EOR).

The European Space Agency (ESA) informs the NEOC of the imminent re-entry of a nuclear-powered satellite in Switzerland. In turn, the NEOC informs all cantonal police services. As well as discussing possible measures to protect the population, it is important that the NEOC receives reports and observations on the crash from the general public.

The NEOC immediately mobilises various EOR monitoring resources. The most effective instrument in such an event is aerial radiometry. In deploying a Swiss Air Force helicopter, equipped with a highly-sensitive measuring device, it is possible to scan and survey a 70km2 area in the space of three hours.
In addition to the mobilising experts and measuring equipment, the NEOC also requests immediate information on wind conditions from MeteoSwiss. As the national contact point, the NEOC is also responsible for keeping the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) informed.

Satellitenabsturz

Immer wieder kommt es vor, dass Satelliten auf die Erde abstürzen. Da einzelne Satelliten ihre Energie aus radioaktiven Stoffen beziehen, ist beim Absturz eine Verstrahlung nicht auszuschliessen. Sollte ein solcher Absturz tatsächlich über Schweizer Hoheitsgebiet stattfinden, ist die NAZ für die Lokalisierung der radioaktiven Trümmer und die Organisation der entsprechenden Strahlungsmesskampagne verantwortlich. Sie kann dabei auf die Mittel der Einsatzorganisation bei erhöhter Radioaktivität (EOR) zurückgreifen.

Droht tatsächlich ein Satellit mit nuklearer Bordenergieversorgung auf die Schweiz abzustürzen, wird die NAZ durch die European Space Agency (ESA) informiert. Die NAZ orientiert ihrerseits alle Kantonspolizei-Korps. Dabei geht es nicht nur um allfällige Schutzmassnahmen für die Bevölkerung, sondern auch um Beobachtungen aus der Bevölkerung in Zusammenhang mit dem Absturz.

Die NAZ bietet im Ereignisfall sofort diverse Messmittel der EOR auf. Das leistungsfähigste Messmittel für einen solchen Fall ist die Aeroradiometrie. Mit einem Helikopter der Luftwaffe, welcher mit einem hochempfindlichen Messgerät ausgerüstet wird, kann innerhalb von rund drei Stunden ein Gebiet von 70 km2 abgesucht und ausgemessen werden.
Neben dem Aufgebot von Experten und Messmitteln fordert die NAZ in einem solchen Fall auch unverzüglich Unterlagen über die Windverhältnisse bei MeteoSchweiz an. Ausserdem informiert sie als Nationale Kontaktstelle auch die Internationale Atomenergie Agentur (IAEA).