Natural dangers

Natural dangers include severe storms (wind, precipitation, thunderstorms, icy roads), floods, avalanches, mudslides, forest fires and earthquakes. In Switzerland various specialist agencies are competent with regard to natural dangers: MeteoSwiss for weather events, the Federal Office for the Environment for floods and forest fires, the Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research ( WSL SLF) and the Swiss Seismological Service (SSS). Natural events abroad may also have an impact on Switzerland. An example are volcanic eruptions that interfere with air traffic.

As far as natural dangers are concerned (with the exception of earthquakes) early warning is decisive. NEOC disseminates warnings and forecasts from the various agencies to the affected cantons and other partners in the situation network. In the event of an earthquake, a message is automatically sent from the SED to the NEOC containing preliminary information on magnitude and epicentre. It is immediately passed on to the cantonal operations and emergency call centres. Depending on strength and expected damage partner organisations are informed or task force organisations are called up.

In the event of severe events (such as the storms of 2007 or 2013) NEOC runs a federal reporting and situation centre. At the same time the NEOC is in contact with the cantonal management bodies concerned and the specialist agencies and makes situation reports and maps regularly that summarise the situation and anticipated national developments. NEOC is also the cantons' single point of contact for all concerns relating to civil protection.

In the event of major danger the federal specialist authorities are entitled to issue warnings that relate to natural dangers subject to obligatory disclosure. They have to be broadcast by all radio and television providers to the region concerned. NEOC sees that these reports are published. They are aimed at improving the population's ability to protect itself against major perceivable natural dangers and consequently avoiding or limiting human harm and material damage.

Naturgefahren

Zu den Naturgefahren zählen schwere Unwetter (Wind, Niederschläge, Gewitter, Eisglätte), Hochwasser, Lawinen, Hangrutschungen, Waldbrände und Erdbeben. In der Schweiz sind für Naturgefahren verschiedene Fachstellen zuständig: die MeteoSchweiz für Wetterereignisse, das Bundesamt für Umwelt (BAFU) für Hochwasser und Waldbrand, das Schweizerische Lawinenforschungsinstitut WSL SLF und der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst (SED). Auch Naturereignisse im Ausland können Einfluss auf die Schweiz haben. Ein Beispiel dafür sind Vulkanausbrüche, welche den Flugverkehr beeinträchtigen.

Bei Naturgefahren (ausser Erdbeben) kommt der Frühwarnung eine entscheidende Bedeutung zu. Die NAZ verbreitet die Warnungen und Prognoseprodukte der verschiedenen Fachstellen an die betroffenen Kantone und weitere Partner im Lageverbund. Im Falle eines Erdbebens erhält die NAZ vom SED eine automatische Erdbebenmeldung mit ersten Angaben zu Magnitude und Epizentrum. Sie wird umgehend an die kantonalen Einsatz- und Notrufzentralen weitergeleitet. Je nach Stärke und erwarteten Schäden werden Partnerorganisationen orientiert oder die Einsatzorganisation aufgeboten.

Bei schweren Ereignissen (wie zum Beispiel den Unwettern 2007 oder 2013) betreibt die NAZ das Melde- und Lagezentrum des Bundes MLZ. Dabei steht die NAZ in Kontakt mit den betroffenen kantonalen Führungsorganen und den Fachstellen und erstellt regelmässig Lageberichte und Lagekarten, welche die Situation und erwartete Entwicklungen auf nationaler Ebene zusammenfassen. Sie ist auch Anlaufstelle der Kantone für alle Belange des Bevölkerungsschutzes (Single Point of Contact SPOC).

Bei grosser Gefahr können die Fachstellen des Bundes verbreitungspflichtige Warnungen vor Naturgefahren erlassen. Diese müssen von den Radio- und Fernsehanbietern in der betroffenen Region ausgestrahlt werden. Die NAZ sorgt für die Verbreitung dieser Meldungen. Ziel ist es, dass sich die Bevölkerung besser vor erkennbaren, grossen Naturgefahren schützt und dass sich so Personen- und Sachschäden vermeiden oder begrenzen lassen.