Mobile Measuring Devices

Through the Emergency Organisation Radioactivity (EOR), the NEOC has access to a wide range of mobile measurement systems.

PSI and IRA emergency vehicles

Most stand-by operations relating to radioactivity can be carried out with simple measuring equipment for which the speed of intervention on site is decisive. For these tasks, the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) and the Institute for Applied Radiophysics (IRA) have vehicles ready for use. These are equipped with equipment to measure local dose rates and contamination. Their purpose is to swiftly determine the radiological situation on site.

Collecting and analysing samples

The NEOC provides different mobile teams to collect and analyse samples and is deployed in targeted fashion to collect additional measured data from areas affected by a radioactive incident.

Measurement vehicles

Various measurement vehicles and monitoring teams are available in Switzerland. These are stationed at the nuclear power plants (NPP, temporary storage facilities), the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI), the Section Environmental Radioactivity (URA) of the Federal Office of Public Health FOPH), the Institute for Applied Radiophysics (IRA) and the Spiez Laboratory (LS). These measurement vehicles are used to measure dose rates and to take air and environmental samples. There are a number of different laboratories available to analyse these samples. The federal laboratories are primarily responsible for the evaluation of environmental samples, while the cantonal laboratories specialise in the analysis of foodstuffs.

Special on-site measurements

Two mobile measurement laboratories are also available to the monitoring organisations. One contains a whole-body counter, a sampling unit with a NaI-detector and various instruments for measuring the dose rate. The second vehicle is equipped with a Ge-detector and dose-rate measuring equipment. The mobile measurement laboratories can collect and analyse samples on site. Furthermore, it can be ascertained on the spot whether a person is suffering from internal irradiation, where the ingestion or inhalation of radioactivity is suspected.

On-site gamma spectrometry consists of mobile, hand-held Ge-detectors. They determine nuclide composition in the event of contamination (i.e. identify the substances involved). This information is essential for deciding on which further measures should be taken. The on-site gamma spectrometer is operated by the Spiez Laboratory and the URA and is permanently ready for use. The NEOC authorises its deployment. Once the measuring equipment is in place, results will be recorded every hour.

Aerial measurements

Aerial radiometry enables the NEOC to measure nuclide-specific deposits in the soil and activity over a large area. This is performed by a highly sensitive measuring device installed in a helicopter. In three hours, a surface area of up to 70km2 can be measured. The measured values are tracked online and are presented in a ready-to-print map on landing. Aerial radiometry is used if a larger area needs to be scanned for radioactivity, e.g. following a transport accident, plane crash or during the search for sources of radioactivity that have either been lost or acquired illegally.

NBC Officers

In addition to the measurement vehicles, NBC officers of the Swiss Army are deployed in an emergency to undertake local measurements. They act on behalf of the NEOC. Using hand-held monitors, they can collect detailed ambient dose rate measurements and take samples.

Mobile Messmittel

Auch bei den mobilen Messmitteln steht der NAZ in der Probenahme- und Messorganisation eine ganze Palette an Messsystemen zur Verfügung.

Pikettfahrzeuge

Die meisten Piketteinsätze in Zusammenhang mit Radioaktivität können mit einfachen Messmitteln bewältigt werden, für die aber die Geschwindigkeit der Intervention vor Ort eine entscheidende Rolle spielt. Für diese Aufgaben stehen beim Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI) und dem Institut de Radiophysique (IRA) Pikettfahrzeuge zur Verfügung. Diese sind mit Ortsdosisleistungs- und Kontaminationsmessgeräten ausgerüstet und für eine schnelle Abklärung der radiologischen Situation vor Ort bestimmt.

Probenahme und -auswertung

Die NAZ bietet die verschiedenen mobilen Probenahme- und -auswerteequipen auf und setzt sie gezielt ein, um zusätzliche Messdaten aus Gebieten, die von einem Ereignis betroffen sind, zu erhalten.

Messwagen

In der Schweiz stehen verschiedene Messwagen und -equipen zur Verfiügung, die sich bei den Kernanlagen (KKW, ZWILAG), dem Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI), der Sektion Umweltradioaktivität (URA) des Bundesamtes für Gesundheit (BAG), dem Institut Radiophysique (IRA) und dem Labor Spiez (LS) befinden. Mit diesen Messwagen werden Dosisleistungsmessungen vorgenommen, Luftfilter beladen und Umweltproben erhoben. Für die Analyse der Proben stehen diverse Laboratorien zur Verfügung. Diejenigen des Bundes sind primär für die Auswertung von Umweltproben zuständig, während die kantonalen Laboratorien auf Lebensmittelanalysen spezialisiert sind.

Spezialmessungen vor Ort

Der Messorganisation stehen zusätzlich zwei mobile Messlabors beim Labor Spiez zur Verfügung. Das eine enthält einen Ganzkörperzähler, einen Probenmessplatz mit Natrium-Iodid-Detektor und verschiedene Dosisleistungsmessgeräte. Das zweite Fahrzeug ist mit einem Germanium-Detektor und einem Dosisleistungsmessgerät versehen. Mit den mobilen Messlabors können vor Ort Proben erhoben und ausgewertet werden. Ausserdem kann so direkt abgeklärt werden, ob sich eine Person innerlich kontaminiert hat, falls der Verdacht besteht, dass Radioaktivität eingeatmet oder verschluckt wurde.

Bei der in-situ Gammaspektrometrie handelt es sich um mobile, tragbare Germanium-Detektoren. Sie ermöglichen es, bei einer Kontamination die Nuklidzusammensetzung (d.h. die genauen Substanzen) zu bestimmen. Diese Information ist für die weiteren Massnahmen wesentlich. Die in-situ Gammaspektrometrie wird durch das Labor Spiez und die IRA betrieben und ist permanent einsatzbereit. Das Aufgebot erfolgt über die NAZ. Nach dem Eintreffen der Messequipen im Einsatzgebiet können stündlich Resultate erwartet werden.

Messungen aus der Luft

Mit der Aeroradiometrie verfügt die NAZ über ein Messmittel welches eine schnelle, flächendeckende und nuklidspezifische Messung von Aktivitätsablagerungen am Boden erlaubt. Dazu wird ein hochempfindliches Messgerät in einem Helikopter installiert. In rund drei Stunden kann so eine Fläche bis zu 70 km2 ausgemessen werden. Die Messwerte werden online verfolgt und bei der Landung liegt bereits eine druckfertige Karte vor. Eingesetzt wird die Aeroradiometrie wenn ein grösseres Gebiet auf Radioaktivität abgesucht werden soll, z.B. nach einem Transportunfall, einem Flugzeugabsturz oder bei der Suche nach einer verlorenen oder illegalen Quelle.

ABC-Offiziere

Zusätzlich zu den Messwagen können in einem Ereignisfall ABC-Offiziere der Armee eingesetzt werden, die für Messaufträge zur Verfügung stehen. Sie handeln im Auftrag der NAZ. Mit Handmessgeräten können sie detaillierteMessungen vornehmen.