Nuclear Power Plants: Zones

Four nuclear power plants currently generate electricity in Switzerland. These are Beznau (AG) with two reactors, Gösgen (SO), Leibstadt (AG) and Mühleberg (BE). There are two clearly-defined emergency protective zones for each plant.

Zone 1 covers the area around the nuclear power plant where an incident could place the population at immediate risk and thus requires the swift implementation of protective measures. It covers an area with a radius of approx. 3 to 5 kilometres.

Zone 2 continues from Zone 1 and covers an area within a radius of approx. 20 km from the NPP. Zone 2 is divided into six overlapping sectors of 120° each. Targeted alerts can be carried out in the affected areas, wind conditions permitting. The zone and sector boundaries comply with municipal boundaries.

Kernkraftwerke: Zonen

In der Schweiz produzieren vier Kernkraftwerke elektrische Energie: das Kernkraftwerk Beznau (AG) mit zwei Reaktoren, Gösgen (SO), Leibstadt (AG) und Mühleberg (BE). Um jedes Werk sind zwei Notfallschutzzonen definiert.

Die Zone 1 umfasst das Gebiet um das Kernkraftwerk, in dem bei einem Unfall eine Gefahr für die Bevölkerung entstehen kann, welche rasche Schutzmassnahmen erfordert. Sie umfasst ein Gebiet mit einem Radius von ca. 3 bis 5 Kilometern um das Werk.

Die Zone 2 schliesst an die Zone 1 an und umfasst ein Gebiet mit einem Radius von ca. 20 Kilometern. Die Zone 2 ist in sechs sich überlappende Sektoren von je 120° eingeteilt. Sofern es die Windverhältnisse eindeutig zulassen, kann dadurch die Alarmierung gezielt in den betroffenen Gebieten erfolgen. Die Zonen- und Sektorengrenzen folgen den Gemeindegrenzen.