Taking iodine tablets

Potassium iodide tablets, taken at the appropriate time and according to official instructions, can prevent radioactive iodine in the air becoming enriched in the thyroid gland through inhalation. In this way, the radioactive load on the thyroid can be significantly reduced.

However, it should be noted that while potassium iodide tablets offer protection from radioactive iodine, they do not protect against radiation from external sources that affect the body and airways. This is why the authorities issue instructions on additional protective measures to be taken in conjunction with the tablets, such as staying indoors, or taking cover in a cellar or protective shelter.

The National Emergency Operations Centre orders potassium iodide tablets to be provided and to be taken if:

  • There is an imminent danger: instructions to have tablets ready;
  • The danger exists: instructions to take the tablets.

All instructions are communicated via radio.

The way in which the potassium iodide tablets are distributed takes into account the time required to provide them after an accident in a Swiss nuclear power plant. It therefore varies according to the particular zone.

The tablets are distributed as a precaution to all households, schools, companies etc. within a circumference of 50 km from Swiss nuclear power plants. In the rest of Switzerland the potassium iodide tablets have to be handed out to the population within 12 hours of their prescription - according to the collect principle.

Administering the tablets

The tablets should only be taken if officially instructed to do so. They should be dissolved in a liquid of choice and preferably not taken on an empty stomach. The authorities will issue information via radio on the length of this course of treatment.

Dosage

Newborns (first four weeks) may only be given a single dose of ¼ tablet; children from 2 months to 3 years, ½ tablet per day. Children between 3 and 12: one tablet per day; children over 12 and adults: 2 tablets per day. Pregnant women and breast-feeding mothers may take 2 tablets daily for a maximum of 2 days.

Taking potassium iodide tablets offers reliable and safe protection of the thyroid gland. However, their uncontrolled use should be avoided, particularly in newborns and toddlers. Patients with rare illnesses, such as hypersensitivity to iodine or a pre-existing disease of the thyroid gland, should consult their family doctor beforehand.
For further information, go to www.jodtabletten.ch.

Einnahme von Jodtabletten

Gemäss Anordnung der Behörden rechtzeitig eingenommene Kaliumiodid-Tabletten verhindern, dass sich über die Atemluft aufgenommenes radioaktives Jod in der Schilddrüse anreichert. Dadurch wird die Schilddrüsenbelastung durch Radioaktivität wesentlich reduziert.

Zu beachten ist jedoch: Kalimiodid-Tabletten bieten Schutz vor radioaktivem Jod, aber nicht gegen Strahlung, die von aussen auf den Körper und die Atemwege einwirkt. Deshalb wird die Einnahme von Kaliumiodid-Tabletten nur zusammen mit weiteren Schutzmassnahmen angeordnet, wie Aufsuchen von Haus, Keller oder Schutzraum.

Die Nationale Alarmzentrale ordnet die Bereitstellung und Einnahme von Kaliumiodid-Tabletten an, wenn:

  • Gefahr droht: Aufforderung zur Bereitstellung der Tabletten;
  • Gefahr besteht: Aufforderung zur Einnahme der Tabletten.

Alle Anweisungen an die Bevölkerung erfolgen direkt über Radio.
Die Art der Verteilung der Kaliumiodid-Tabletten berücksichtigt die bei einem Unfall in einem schweizerischen Kernkraftwerk zur Verfügung stehende Zeit für das Bereitstellen der Jodtabletten.

Im Umkreis von 50 km um die schweizerischen Kernkraftwerke werden die Tabletten vorsorglich an die Haushalte, Schulen, Betriebe usw. verteilt. In der übrigen Schweiz müssen die Kaliumiodid-Tabletten innerhalb von 12 Stunden nach Anordnung - nach dem Holprinzip - an die Bevölkerung abgegeben werden.

Einnahme

Grundsätzlich nur auf Anordnung der Behörden. Die Tabletten sind in einer beliebigen Flüssigkeit aufgelöst und möglichst nicht auf nüchternen Magen einzunehmen. Die Dauer der Anwendung wird von den Behörden über Radio bekanntgegeben.

Dosierung

Neugeborenen im 1. Lebensmonat darf nur einmalig ¼ Tablette gegeben werden; Kindern ab dem 2. Monat bis 3 Jahre ½ Tablette pro Tag. Kinder von 3 bis 12 Jahren: 1 Tablette pro Tag; Kinder über 12 Jahre sowie Erwachsene: 2 Tabletten pro Tag. Schwangere und Stillende dürfen 2 Tabletten pro Tag an maximal 2 Tagen einnehmen.

Der Schutz der Schilddrüse mit Kaliumiodid-Tabletten gilt als sichere und ungefährliche Massnahme. Eine unkontrollierte Anwendung ist jedoch zu vermeiden, insbesondere bei Neugeborenen und Kleinkindern. Patienten mit seltenen Krankheiten, wie z.B. einer bekannten Jodüberempfindlichkeit oder einer bereits bestehenden Schilddrüsenerkrankung, sollen sich vorgängig beim Hausarzt erkundigen.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter www.jodtabletten.ch.