Chemical accidents

The legal responsibilities for NEOC activities in the event of chemical accidents are very different from those which regulate its radioactivity-related tasks, since the latter are within federal responsibility. In the case of chemical protection, municipal and cantonal deployment forces, such as the police, fire service, chemical protection unit, medical services and disaster protection bodies have extensive powers, responsibilities and resources. It is however in their legal duty to notify the federal authorities in the event of incidents that have serious repercussions on the population and the environment.

Consequently, the NEOC is only involved in large-scale, cross-regional incidents and in the co-ordination of NBC protection. In the event of a terrorist attack with chemical weapons, the NEOC provides the local deployment forces with back up in the shape of the DDPS deployment team (EEVBS). This comprises experts from the Spiez Laboratory and the army’s centre of expertise for national NBC Protection, whose members are specially trained to deal with such incidents.

In early 2000, Switzerland ratified the UN/ECE convention on transborder industrial accidents (Helsinki Convention). By doing so, it is obliged to report serious cross-border industrial accidents. The NEOC was appointed as the “National Contact Point”.

Part of NEOC day-to-day activities in the area of chemical protection is the maintenance of the information system for dangerous substances (IGS).

Chemie

Die Zuständigkeit der NAZ im Falle von Chemieereignissen unterscheidet sich aufgrund der rechtlichen Grundlagen stark vom Gebiet der Radioaktivität, wo dem Bund weitgehende Kompetenzen zugewiesen sind. Im Falle der Chemie haben die Einsatzkräfte der Gemeinden und Kantone, wie Polizei, Feuer- und Chemiewehr, Sanität und Katastrophenschutzorgane umfassende Pflichten, Befugnisse und Mittel. Für Störfälle mit erheblichen Auswirkungen auf Mensch und Umwelt besteht allerdings eine gesetzliche Meldepflicht an die Bundesbehörden.

Die NAZ wird daher nur bei Grossereignissen mit überregionalen Auswirkungen und im Rahmen des Koordinierten ABC-Schutzes direkt als Einsatzorgan aktiv. Im Falle eines terroristischen Anschlages mit chemischen Stoffen bietet die NAZ zur Unterstützung der lokalen Einsatzkräfte die Einsatzequipe VBS (EEVBS) auf. Es handelt sich dabei um speziell für C-Terror-Ereignisse ausgebildete Experten des Labor Spiez und des Kompetenzzentrums für ABC-Schutz der Armee in Spiez.

Im Frühjahr 2000 hat die Schweiz das UN/ECE-Übereinkommen über grenzüberschreitende Auswirkungen von Industrieunfällen (Helsinki-Übereinkommen) ratifiziert. In diesem Abkommen verpflichtet sich die Schweiz zur internationalen Verbreitung und Entgegennahme von Meldungen über schwere grenzüberschreitende Industrieunfälle. Die NAZ wurde als "National Contact Point" bestimmt.

Zu den alltäglichen Tätigkeiten der NAZ im Bereich Chemie gehört hingegen der Unterhalt des Informationssystems für gefährliche Stoffe (IGS).