Biologie

Harmful biological incidents (B incidents) are caused by organisms (incl. viruses). They include pandemics, animal epidemics and all incidents with organisms that endanger or affect the population, animals or the environment. They may also have indirect implications for civil protection due to the absence of staff, e.g. in task force organisations and critical infrastructure.

Harmful biological incidents are jointly managed by both Confederation and cantons. Particularly the Confederation plays an important role in dealing with pandemics and animal epidemics. Although the most important tasks are assigned to expert authorities, major incidents demand a coordinated strategy.

Federal measures to deal with harmful biological incidents are coordinated by the NBCN Crisis Management Board. Depending on the incident the relevant specialist authorities of the Federal Office of Public Health (incidents with pathogens that infect humans, i.e. human pathogens), Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office (incidents with animal pathogens) Federal Office for Agriculture (incidents with animal pathogens) or the Federal Office for the Environment (incidents with all other organisms).

As core element of the NBCN Crisis Management Board the NEOC prepares for an emergency by working out contingency plans relating to the B sector. In 2014, the former pandemics special staff (SOPA) was disbanded and its tasks have been integrated into the NBCN Crisis Management Board. At the moment, the latter is developing a start strategy for the case of an influenza pandemic (flu pandemic). This strategy should ensure that all involved in dealing with the crisis have the same understanding of how the consequences of the incident are to be handled. So it clearly defines the goals and priorities of the NBCN Crisis Management Board. It serves as foundation for preparing preliminary decisions at the national government level and enables all involved to act in a coordinated and purposeful manner. It forms the basis for a comprehensive approach (management strategy).

Biologie

Biologische Schadenereignisse (B-Ereignisse) werden durch Organismen (inkl. Viren) ausgelöst. Zu B-Ereignissen zählen Pandemien, Tierseuchen und jegliche Ereignisse mit Organismen, welche die Bevölkerung, Tiere und Umwelt gefährden oder beeinträchtigen. Sie können sich auch indirekt auf den Bevölkerungsschutz auswirken durch den Ausfall von Personal, etwa bei Einsatzorganisationen und kritischen Infrastrukturen.

Biologische Schadenereignisse werden gemeinsam von Bund und Kantonen bewältigt. Der Bund hat insbesondere eine wichtige Rolle bei Pandemien und Tierseuchen. Die wichtigsten Aufgaben liegen dabei bei den Fachämtern, grosse Ereignisse erfordern aber eine koordinierte Bewältigungsstrategie.

Die Massnahmen des Bundes zur Bewältigung von biologischen Schadenereignissen werden vom Bundesstab ABCN koordiniert. Je nach Ereignis sind die zuständigen Fachämter das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (Ereignisse mit Erregern, welche Menschen befallen, sog. humanpathogene Organismen), das Bundesamt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen BLV (Ereignisse mit tierpathogenen Organismen) das Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft (Ereignisse mit pflanzenpathogenen Organismen) oder das Bundesamt für Umwelt (Ereignisse mit allen übrigen Organismen).

In der Vorbereitung arbeitet die NAZ als Kernelement des BST ABCN an Vorsorgeplanungen im B-Bereich. 2014 wurde der ehemalige Sonderstab Pandemie (SOPA) aufgelöst und seine Aufgaben in den BST ABCN integriert. Momentan wird die Startstrategie für den Fall Influenza-Pandemie (Grippe-Pandemie) im BST ABCN entwickelt. Sie soll ein gemeinsames Verständnis aller an der Krisenbewältigung Beteiligten darüber schaffen, wie mit den Konsequenzen des Ereignisses umzugehen ist. Sie definiert namentlich die Ziele und die Prioritäten des BST ABCN. Sie dient als Grundlage für die Vorbereitung der ersten Entscheide auf Stufe Landesregierung und ermöglicht allen Beteiligten, koordiniert und zielgerichtet zu handeln. Sie bildet die Basis für eine umfassende Bewältigung (Bewältigungsstrategie).