Raising the alarm

Where an incident presents a direct risk and as long as the responsible federal bodies are not in a position to manage the situation, the NEOC is authorised to warn the authorities, alert the population and issue instructions via the radio. For this, there are clearly defined alert procedures.

The NEOC differentiates two levels for the transmission of emergency reports:

  • warnings
  • alerts

Warnings are given if an accident which may lead to the release of radioactivity has occurred. The aim is to ensure the timely mobilisation of the relevant authorities at the federal, cantonal and municipal levels. This also includes preparation for initiating alerts, so that the sirens can be sounded early enough in the event of a general alert.

The general alert is used to alert the population. The “general alert” sirens signal to the population that they should turn on their radio and await instructions from the authorities.
The NEOC instructs the public on what to do and provides them with information on the incident directly via the Swiss national radio news team (Radio SRF). At the same time, the local radio stations receive information on protective measures, instructions and general directions.

Alarmierung

Bei unmittelbar drohender Gefahr und solange die zuständigen Organe des Bundes nicht handeln können, warnt die NAZ in eigener Kompetenz die Behörden, veranlasst die Alarmierung der Bevölkerung und sorgt für die Weitergabe von Verhaltensanweisungen über Radio. Dabei gibt es genau vordefinierte Alarmierungsabläufe.

Bei der Weitergabe von ausserordentlichen Meldungen werden zwei Stufen unterschieden:

  • die Warnung
  • die Alarmierung

Die Warnung wird ausgelöst, wenn sich ein Störfall ereignet hat, der zu einem Austritt von Radioaktivität führen kann. Die Warnung bezweckt die rechtzeitige Erstellung der Einsatzbereitschaft der betroffenen Stellen von Bund, Kantonen und Gemeinden. Dies umfasst auch die Erstellung der Alarmierungsbereitschaft, damit die Sirenen für einen allfälligen Allgemeinen Alarm rechtzeitig ausgelöst werden können.

Für die Alarmierung der Bevölkerung wird mittels Sirenen der Allgemeine Alarm ausgelöst. Mit dem Sirenenzeichen "Allgemeiner Alarm" wird die Bevölkerung angehalten, Radio zu hören und den Anordnungen der Behörden Folge zu leisten.
Die NAZ gibt ihre Verhaltensanweisungen und Informationen an die Bevölkerung direkt an die Nachrichtenredaktion von Radio SRF weiter. Gleichzeitig werden auch die Lokalradiostationen mit den nötigen Informationen zu Schutzmassnahmen, Verhaltensanweisungen und allgemeinen Hinweisen bedient.